Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Working with teak

5/24/18       
Michael Member

I'm presently working up a quote building a teak bookcase with glass panel doors. I've never worked teak before and I would like to find out from the group the difficulties cutting, planing and shaping teak. I have a 10 foot sliding table saw with 12 inch carbide Forrest saw blades. 15 inch planer with carbide knives and carbide shaper cutters. So my question is am I my prepared to work teak or am I in for a load of trouble. By the way I'll be buying 4/4 teak in the rough. Thank you!

5/24/18       #2: Working with teak ...
Rick G. Member

You'll be fine, hope you got/get it for a good price. Its heavy and adds up quick, a bit oily and tough on blades. Best to you!

5/24/18       #3: Working with teak ...
Mark Member

Even though your tooling is carbide, after working the teak it won't cut as well with the hardwoods after that.

You should factor in resharpening and new inserts into your cost of doing the job.

Mark

5/24/18       #4: Working with teak ...
rich c.

Used to be that gluing up teak was problematic due to the oil content. No idea if you are using plantation teak, or if that is all you can buy now.

5/25/18       #5: Working with teak ...
Michael Member

Rich C, brings up a good point about gluing due to its oil content. Is there a certain type of glue I should be using? I.m presently using Tilebond original/red label.

And thank you for the information about including in re-sharpening and others. I'm paying $25 BF and not sure if it's plantation but I'll ask.
Thank you!

5/25/18       #6: Working with teak ...
Ryan

Shop around on that price. We just made a bench out of teak and got prices from $11BF to $25BF.

5/25/18       #7: Working with teak ...
rich c.

Per Titebond;
Can Titebond Wood Glues be used for projects using teak, cedar or redwood?