Woodworking Business

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Unlicensed Contractors

10/28/15       
Randy Stone Member

I'm sure this has been broached before but I need some suggestions. I'm a remodeling contractor in San Diego lisenced, bonded, insured since 1985. I build my own cabinets for my remodels and have used this site many times for great advise.
The story... I have a long time client that I consider well off. I've done at least $250K in remodel work over the last 20 yrs for them. They've always been the best people to work for. Several years ago I bid a bathroom remodel for them $23K that was a no go at the time. They just emailed me and said we are interested in starting that bath remodel (I'm like Yeah) but then they drop the bomb...We got a bid from a contractor that did work for some good friends of ours and he comes highly recommended and his bid is $15K ...can you meet or beat his price. They attach his estimate. First clue that we are not comparing apples to apples is that he has misspelled half the words on his contract. So I look him up on the State License Board and there's no Jose Construction (not real name but you get the picture) Now I don't mind competition but give me a break! We have a meeting in a week.
What I want to say to them... I'm not dropping my price, and further more if you hire him I'm going to turn him into the CSLB" . What I will probably say ... " I won't even consider his bid in our negotiation cause he's not licensed, but if you get another bid from a licensed contractor I'd be happy to talk turkey".