Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

New to sliding table saw

4/11/22       
Mr Fee Member

I'm pretty new to sliding table saws and we have a holzher 1243 sliding saw. I have been getting a lot of contradicting statements on the best way to use it from the people I work with. I only use it once in a blue moon because the cnc cuts most parts and I work mostly on specialty parts.

The cross cut fence is in the front and I can cross cut fine by putting the end of the rip fence at the front of the saw blade. My issue is ripping full sheets length wise.

I was taught to put the rip fence well past the end of the blade and use the cross cut fence at the same time. It's hard for me to keep the panel flat against the rip fence at the end of the cut without pushing the offcut into the back of the blade. The owner said I should reach over the gaurd/dust shroud and push the with my right hand toward the end of the cut?
In relation to cutting full sheets;

Do you reach over the blade guard?

Where are you focusing/putting pressure?

Where do you locate your rip fence?

Are you pushing toward the rip fence, toward the crosscut fence or both?

Any other tips or things I might need to know when using a slider is welcomed.

I would appreciate any help as I'm trying to be safe and efficient.

I know this seems silly but I honestly hate this machine right now and dread anytime I have to use it.

4/11/22       #2: New to sliding table saw ...
Dave Edgerton  Member

Ripping:
Right fence should be in normal position with the end closest to you about 6 " sticking out in line with the bar where it locks down.
Rip panel with pressure onto the rip fence but use the slider to move the material. Crosscut fence has no bearing on this operation and you don't need it.

Crosscut: