Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Outsourcing

3/11/23       
tracy nauman

Good morning.

I have a small shop in northwest Missouri. I am a carpenter by trade. I have done this kind of work my entire life. I took over the family business about 15 years ago with the intention of eventually doing cabinets full time. That has not happened. I still have to do carpentry work to supplement my cabinet shop work. I average $250,000 a year in work. Most jobs I take have either cabinets, trim or some kind of custom woodwork involved. I do mostly remodeling and work by myself or with the help of my daughter or brother when they are able. I make face frame cabinets. I will make the cabinet boxes and do the finishing. Outsource the doors and drawers.

What I am wanting to find out is your guys opinion on outsourcing everything except assembly, finishing and installation. At 50 I really do not think becoming full time cabinet maker is in my best interest. Investing in new equipment to become more productive. Speed and accuracy cost a lot of money. On the other hand, so does shipping cost and the long lead times I am experiencing. There is absolutely no way to add help in this area. Every business owner is begging for help and the help that is available is has so many issues you cannot depend on.

At this time, I am scheduling work into next year. I have raised prices and still cannot keep up. I have even had a customer ask me what would it cost to make them the only name on my list of work.