Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Hanging brackets for wall cabinets

1/26/24       
Oggie  Member

I am planning to start hanging wall cabinets using a rail on the wall and hanging brackets inside cabinets. My cabinets have 1/2" thick melamine backs that are tongue and grooved in a 1/4" deep x 1/2" wide groove on all four sides. There is also a 1/4" clearance between the back and the final edge of the cabinet. There are no nailers. I can increase this clearance to about 1/2" if need be.

Details are in the attached drawings.

Since I've never used this system before, I would appreciate it if someone could guide me on which hardware would work best with these given specifications. I don't have CNC, so minimal added machining would be desirable, e.g. a simple round hole in the back is preferable to some odd-shaped slots.

I'm also considering using rails on both the walls and cabinets since I don't expect that much need for adjustments if the wall rails are installed correctly (level and straight).

What do you all think?

View higher quality, full size image (2040 X 1335)

1/27/24       #2: Hanging brackets for wall cabinets ...
chris

"French Cleat" Works great for us. Requires a 3/4" inset for the 1/4" back panel instead of your 1/4".
We build our uppers at 13" deep. 13"-1/4"-3/4" leaves us with a 12" interior depth. We also run a pocket holed 3/4"X3" nailer across the bottom so we can screw through the cabinet and secure it to the wall, cover the screw with a sticky dot.
Chris

1/27/24       #4: Hanging brackets for wall cabinets ...
Yavuz Member

Suspension rail we call and a bracket that attaches to the side of the box.
its made of steel and the system works like a french cleat except this bracket has two way adjustment and the members are made of steel.
You need to machine u shape notch for the rail.