Computer Aided Design

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Breaking into Design

9/30/13       
Andrew

Question for the CAD / Design guys( and girls ) out there;
I got into the cabinetmaking/millwork trade in 1999 as a builder and now would like to attempt to move up ( laterally ? ) in the industry.
Is Design work a good area to be thinking about in terms of marketability and the prospect of advancing my pay scale?
I'm a college grad in an unrelated field , so I have a brain and would like to use it more ... not to mention I'd rather not be sucking dust and heavy lifting into my 60's as I've seen so many "old timers" hit the wall.
What training would you all recommend ?
I've heard many supervisors and shop owners lament the need for design guys that actually know how to build , limitations of materials, joinery , etc.
( P.S. Not digging on design guys, just seems that someone with extensive experience in the hands on fabrication process would have an edge. )

10/1/13       #2: Breaking into Design ...
james mcgrew Member

The minute I sense a lack of respect for anyone who as a matter of being on a team and producing Income for all involved, and I am speaking from the Apprentice to the older and fully experienced who by their own choices are were they are in life. then this Interview would last about as long as it take to get the prospect out the door. Good Luck is usually all I am willing to say to them !

10/1/13       #3: Breaking into Design ...
mike

Most designers I know are also the salesperson that meets w/ the client. So, being able to sell goes hand in hand with being a designer. I was an installer and wanted to move into something else. My boss unexpectedly offered me a sales/designer position that was a great experience.

I heard long ago that no matter what trade or business you are in that becoming a salesman in that field was one of the ways someone could increase their income and I think that is true.