Total Finishing Supplies

Professional Finishing

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Cerusing with glaze/ does a good water based exist

1/31/17       
Kevin Member

So im new to using water based coatings and made the horrible mistake of using mohawks finishing glaze between coats of water based top coats, obviously it just peeled right off. so i stripped the job down and tried general finishes water based glaze affects and it worked yet it was sooooooo time consuming. the problem ive noticed with water based glazes it dries super fast and it takes allot of rubbing to take the finish off the top and for it to stay recessed in the grain. and if you wipe it off to fast your just taking it out of the grain, defeating the purpose. does anyone know of a better water based product to use to be able to achieve the finish im going for? or some better methods with out having to use solvent based finishes?
attached i have the finish i got, came out great but god knows i lost a but load of money on that finish.

View higher quality, full size image (3024 X 3024)

2/1/17       #2: Cerusing with glaze/ does a good wa ...
Dave Edgerton  Member

That looks amazing! I've used the Gf primer and sprayed it on and then sanded it back to get similar results. I cut it with water about 5o percent. It may not look as good as what you did with yours

2/1/17       #3: Cerusing with glaze/ does a good wa ...
Bart

That looks nice Kevin. You're right on big projects it gets a little crazy with it drying out so fast. GF makes a retarder. After that episode I switched to retarder. I haven't done a big glazing job since but it does give you more time.

2/1/17       #4: Cerusing with glaze/ does a good wa ...
Pat

I've experienced the same problem. The extender/retarder helps, but not much. Golden Paints used to make a nice WB glaze in pre-mixed colors. They discontinued that exact product, but I plan on trying this next time: