Cabinet and Millwork Installation

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

huge mistake with heavy bar over floating floor.

7/12/12       
tom

yes, i know ive made a whopping mistake. lets get that out of the way right now... its too long of a story as to the why's and how's but contractor and homeowner would not wait til my huge bar was done and went ahead and laid a massive floating floor down in a basement . needless to say, i had to install my cabinets and made a bad decision by not demanding they wait. i may be a good cabinetmaker but i am a rookie in the flooring dept and i admit, i screwed up by not knowing it would buckle. so, of course, it also gets a whopper of a piece of granite and of course, we installed in the winter and of course now its buckled. ok, ill get past the whole contractor/homeowner/ me debate as to who is responsible. its all very civil and it will get repaired, luckily, the customer is a levelheaded decent guy. my question is, we are debating as to HOW to fix it. I had a thought that i would need to cut a footprint relief cut around the bar, therefore seperating it from the rest of the floor. the flooring and the bar cannot all be taken up. its just not possible due to many reasons. the granite alone is 36" x 10 feet in length . anyway, i really dont have a solution yet, i have suggested bringing in an independent flooring contractor to advise. any thoughts, that is, after youve stopped laughing???

7/13/12       #2: huge mistake with heavy bar over fl ...
Marty Member

Gday Tom,
How is you think your cabinets have caused the floor to buckle ?
The word basement could be also associated moisture/dampness/membrane or lack of..........

Marty

7/13/12       #3: huge mistake with heavy bar over fl ...
james mcgrew Member