CNC

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

CNC Router Suggestions

6/19/18       
Riley Member

I own a midsize furniture company and we are ready to purchase our first CNC machine. I have lots of CAD experience and machine experience (moulders, rip saws, automatic uncut saws etc) - but no experience actually using a CNC Router.

We are experiencing a pretty heavy boom in sales over the last 6 months, and at 43 people currently - I am interested in automating our production process instead of just throwing more people at it. We have 10 full time cabinet makers and about the same number of upholsterers.

My question is this - which CNC router is the best on the market for us? We are currently looking at the AXYS Pacer, APEX3 by Multicam, and the Techno Titan.
Are there any others we should consider? Are these overkill?
The estimates from each are currently between $70,000 and $125,000 - which is fine I can afford that, but what I want to know is which would be the best machine for us?

Is it feasible to have a separate programmer and operator? The idea is that we would feed the machine cut lists and then have a separate operator perform the cuts.

Cutting Needs:
- Birch Plywood Cabinet Carcasses and Drawer Boxes
- MDF Cabinets with some Edge Work
- Leather and Upholstery Fabric (Each has recommended an oscillating knife along with the spindle)
- 2 - 3" Solid wood Edge work and basic routing

Concerns:
- Our workforce is not technically inclined and I would like as simple an operation as possible with as little maintenance as possible.
- I would like to cut each item as quickly as possible and do not mind paying for a robust system - but from what I understand most of the cutting speed will be determined by our material.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, or if someone could recommend a consultant who could help us choose the correct machine that would be fantastic!

Thanks!

R